Spiritual Battle

I have never been one to put stock into dreams, nor do I trust feelings easily, as I know often times they are not from God. That being said, months ago when I experienced a dream I knew it was not normal. Never before had I felt so much fear or anxiety that did not leave once I was awake.

In my dream I was standing out at a recreational place in the country. It was a beautiful day, the sky was a clear blue and the weather perfect. There were a slew of people there ranging from middle school to college age. They were all enjoying themselves, mostly in the pool. As I was standing there with a friend, groups started forming, one group for each age/grade, it was then that fear struck me. Out of nowhere came a deafening crashing noise. Fear continued to crash through my veins as with each passing second this noise drew closer. Suddenly this noise was upon us and what made it had arrived. It looked like a huge tree, and each time the crashing noise sounded something was being crushed, by the time I saw it, it had started crushing each age group of teens around me.  Panic had me stuck standing still, I looked around as the noise drew closer continuing to crush the teens, no one in the older group seemed to notice. Standing there I started praying with my friend, she was the only other person as scared as I was as this thing drew nearer to us, right as it was coming towards us I awoke. I couldn’t fall back asleep, my heart was pounding and I knew this was no ordinary dream, there was a spiritual battle going on and it didn’t even seem like prayer was enough to ward off whatever was coming. It was clear that the teens I had grown to care about were slowly being crushed and no one cared about it, I had opened my Bible after that to try and calm my nerves and was surprised at where I landed. I had randomly picked the Psalms to read as I thought that would provide comfort and was brought to Psalms 37. It was there in verse 35 that I was struck, “I have seen a wicked, ruthless man spreading himself like a green laurel tree.”  It struck me odd that I would dream of a tree crushing those around me and I would also come across this verse.

So why am I bringing this up when it was like almost a year ago this happened? Well I have been considering this and a lot of other things lately.  One of the things I have been considering is how Satan will affect Christian’s and how there will be those of us who fall away following false teachers. It kind of reminds me of the Screwtape Letters by C.S Lewis but in a different way.

I believe that as the times change so does the way Satan runs after those who are no longer under his control. In the same way I believe that the way Christian’s fight back also has to change.  That being said I think C.S Lewis’s book is good especially for the time he wrote it but I think if we were to truly consider the fight at hand today things are different. Especially this attack we are currently seeing on the church.

Whether you have figured it out by my writing, I am a fighter. I was born this way and have always been one to stand up and fight hard for what is right (or at least what I thought was right.) I believe we are in a battle, it is not physical but something more important. If this were a physical battle I would be one of the first to grab my gear and sign up but this battle is one of spirits that cannot be won by strength. There is a spiritual oppression facing us today, and I believe this battle is one where Satan at the time being has the upper hand. I believe my dream was a reassurance that what I feared (at that time) was happening, the youth, the next generation of Christianity is being oppressed and crushed. I think we are facing right now a choice, we can chose to be either blind and ignorant to the battle raging on or we can chose to take a stand and fight to make a difference, either way we need to make a move.

This is something I will probably be delving into for the next several posts, as it is something probing my interest right now.

 

Leave a comment